Journey to Nihon

Japan has been one of my dream destination in Asia. I am very fascinated with their history and culture. When a college friend asked me if I wanted to travel to the Land of the Rising Sun I said “YES!” We encountered little bumps along the way like getting a Japanese visa, finding the best deal for airfare and creating an itinerary for the group since it was a DIY tour.  I was so happy when my friend told me that we got our tourist visa, tickets and JR Pass already. All I need to do is prepare my autumn clothes and get enough Yen in my wallet. We travelled October 28 – November 7, 2010 across Japan. From the modern and busy Tokyo to the gardens and geishas of Kyoto, from the cool Hakone with the Mt. Fuji view to the food trips we did in Osaka. We had a very busy itinerary since we went to four major cities in Japan – Tokyo, Yokohama, Kyoto and Osaka. We spent more time in Tokyo and Kyoto representing the modern and old Japan. The pictures in this post did not give justice to how beautiful Japan is. The people were also very nice and accommodating even if most of the people we asked for directions were not very fluent with English, they will try to give us the correct directions or at least point us to someone who can give us the information we need. As a traveller, one of my checklist in having a great trip is how a country’s food tastes and Japan definitely got my five-star rating. From their authentic Japanese food – tempura, ramen, Japanese curry to their street food – takoyaki, okomiyaki and rice crackers which will be featured on my next post.

The Golden Temple

Kinkaku-ji

The Temple of the Golden Pavilion is a Zen Buddhist temple located in Kyoto Japan.

Great Buddha at Kamakura

The Great Buddha located in Kotoku-in temple in Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan

Shinjuku gyoen

Japanese pond

Drops of Light at Kamakura

Ohayou Yokohama

Takeshita Street

Tokyo Tower

Statue of Liberty at Odaiba

Yokohama at Night

Ghibli Museum

Ghibli Museum a museum featuring Japanese anime work of Studio Ghibli and is located in Inokashira Park in Mitaka, Tokyo.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was not able to capture everything in the photos (I am missing my Osaka photos)  but my memories of Nihon will last forever. It was a great journey walking the various streets of Japan. I promise myself to come back again and I will make sure it would be in Spring. 

Arigatou gozaimasu Nihon.

One thought on “Journey to Nihon

Leave a Reply

