Banana Nut Raisin Bread

Banana Nut Raisin Bread is the fourth recipe in “The Wonder Pot Stories” which describes my quest in baking different goodies in the Wonder Pot. I asked my older sister what she wanted me to bake for Christmas. The time when she and our eldest sister will come and spend Christmas at our ancestral home. She wanted to have banana bread and carrot cake. I am still undecided on what carrot cake recipe to do, so I decided to try the banana bread first.

The recipe that I got did not have nuts and raisins to it but I wanted to improve the intended output, thus, the name banana nut raisin bread.

I went to the public market with mom to buy very ripe bananas and I was very glad it only cost a fraction of the regular bananas. Maybe because on the outside it looks very rotten but when I peeled to look at the banana, it just got the right ripeness that I needed.

Ingredients:

1 cup, mashed banana

1 cup sugar

2 pieces eggs

1/2 cup cooking oil

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup raisins

handful of walnuts

1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Procedure

1. Combine all the dry ingredients starting with the flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda and mix thoroughly until evenly distributed

2. Add the other ingredients (eggs, mashed banana, cooking oil and vanilla essence) then mix well with the dry ingredients until a batter is formed

3. Add the raisins and chopped walnuts.

4. Grease the bundt pan and pour in all the mixture then bake the mixture for an hour or until it pass the toothpick test.

5. Remove the bundt pan in the wonder oven then allow to cool down for a few minutes. Transfer the banana bread on a serving plate.

6. You may put the bread in the fridge too cool or serve immediately.

I did not wait for the banana bread to cool down and got myself a slice. It had the right sweetness and moist that I was looking for. I love the added crunch of the walnuts and the raisins that added more texture to the bread.

I decided to put in the fridge half of the bread to check how it would taste the next day and we were too full to eat another slice. After twelve hours, I still love it so did the rest of the family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

